published on in Global News

D&D 5E - Risk of Suffocating

The Rug of Smothering has the ability to smother targets, who become at risk of suffocating. What do you think it means rule-wise? They can't breath and must hold their breath? They run out of breath and will suffocate at the start of their next turn? If i compare it to the Whelm's attack of a Water Elemental, it actually mention it's unable to breath and therefore must hold it's breath but the Rug of Smothering is not that clear.

Smother: Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, blinded, and at risk of suffocating, and the rug can't smother another target.

Whelm: Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained and unable to breathe unless it can breathe water.

ncG1vNJzZmivp6x7prrWqKmlnF6kv6h706GpnpmUqHyztdKkZKieXajCp7LOnJitoZ6ce3WFkXJqa2c%3D